Acronis Backup Primary Aspect Server
We have redundant aspect servers , connectivity servers .we did acronis backup of disk of both aspects servers on September 12 , after that customer added three which aspect objects they are running in the controller ,they configured them from control builder and then they used MB uploader to update and populate 800xA version 4.1 rollup 11. Objects tags can be seen from operational display , faceplates etc. Primary Aspect Server had a problem and we need to restore the information from acronis backup, nowadays just secondary aspect server is running. This acronis backup does not include the three new objects which nowadays they can be seen from operational display, faceplates etc. The question is , when we restore to primary aspect machine Is there any problem with the new three objects added , which they are not in primary aspect server acronis back up
Thanks for your support
Voted best answer
To be sure to keep AS2's version after restoring AS1 you should rename the \OperateITData\AspDir folder at AS1 before allowing its 800xA services to startup. When AS1 subsequently startup, it will have to slave to AS2 since it has no own Aspect Directory database.
In theory, you should do the same for the \OperateITData\FsdServer folder to avoid injection of lingering objects (objects known by FSD but not Aspect Directory). There is a tool to remove lingering objects published at ABB Library - this may become necessary when these objects come in thousands. From your description, I don't think there will be so much lingering objects accumulated by just cold starting the Aspect Directory with a difference of a couple of days and an upload of three objects.
This is what I found from a previous post :
A 1oo2 system has no Read Only Mode. A singled out server will remain writeable. This must be taken into account - when 1oo2 servers rejoin, primary WILL OVERWRITE secondary. First provider in service group = primary. Any engineering work, etc made in secondary will go lost if primary version is more recent. This behavior can be disabled on Aspect Directory service (it is called 1oo2 Automatic Recovery). If disabled, secondary will enter Error State in case primary version is different. Maintenance staff then have to decide which server to cold reset.
It’s always possible to rename the database that is not good and it should be copied from the other aspect after restarting the server.